Hello :)

Hi! I am 14 years old and I want to go raw! I have been eating vegetarian for about 3 years full time now, and been vegan on and off for about a year. I really think the idea of going raw is fantastic! I love cooking and fiddling in the kitchen, so it sounds perfect for me!

The only problem is that my family doesn't understand things like vegetarianism and veganism. They think that I can just eat meat if there is no other option. But it isn't only that I don't want to eat meat, it is really an ethical dilemma for me. I wihs they understood!

Am I the only one who has an unsupportive family?

Comments

• I went vegan when I was around your age as well! At big family dinners it always seemed to be the end of the world....but my cousin was really supportive so I started making us special dinners for special occasions like christmas!

My poor grandpa even thought that it was a religion. I have been vegan for 11 years and though it took a bit of time, now even my little brother knows to look at labels for me. It takes a lot of research and time to be able to explain to people in the best way your ideals and your priorities with this diet. I find that assuring everyone that what they are doing doesn't cause me any grief helps.

My answer when they say anything about meat is: "its your decision, you only live once" (in a happy voice!) and that usually solves the problem.

Most people seem to react defensively to our choice, I don't know how many times I've heard "oh well I only eat chicken" lol - but with time and lots and lots of research you can learn to calm their worries with out causing yourself distress. Its one more step in the journey :)

Good luck!

• My family is very supportive of my lifestyle with the exception of my brother......