Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Traveling Tips... Please!

Hi Folks, I have been dabbling in Raw for a couple of years now and have recently made a determination to stay 80 – 90% raw. (My family is not completely sold on it) My dilemma is that I will be traveling to the US for a week (Petaluma, CA).Because I am not very experienced, I’m not certain how to hold my resolve.
I would greatly appreciate any tips on traveling and maintaining a raw diet. Thank You, Amigovia

Comments

• LucyLucy Raw Newbie

Hi Amigovia,I believe that California has many places to eat raw food,or some great salads. Every time that I go back to my Country I eat a lot salad,fruits,juices,and on the plain I ask for a vegetarian meal and eat only the salad. From now on I’ll take some goji berries,cacao,and onion bread. I’ll do a fast too.I am thinking that if I travel by car,I’ll do a water fast at leat until I’ll get to a good restaurant that has a salad.Also I’ll bring some protein bars too.

• Thank you Lucy, I like the idea of fasting for a bit while traveling. That sounds easy. I know that California has some amazing salad restaurants, and I look forward to trying some
    . I also like the idea of taking a little of my own dried foods in my handbag. I appreciate your help, Amigovia

• MopokeMopoke Raw Newbie

Hi Amigovia… my first forum post was about raw travel too…I had come back from a trip feeling somewhat ‘lost’ in physical and mental terms after going from strength to strength on raw food at home. What I learned from the feedback and retrospective thinking was: Next time I will make sure that I journey with lots of wet fruit and veg (cucumbers/salad/fruit salad and juice) and then while my body adjusts to the new place keep it very simple.