dehydrator recommendations?

Hi Everyone!

I am new to raw, and have been vegan for about 9 years. So I am looking at getting a few essentials.. namely a food dehydrator! I am only “cooking” for myself, so I am hoping you guys could recommend something relatively inexpensive and suitable for making smaller amounts of stuff.

So gimme some options! I have been doing some research and reading reviews online, but I would rather get opinions from people using them on a regular basis and for similar purposes.. and not, oh I dunno.. Turkey Jerky?

Also, any other essentials you might all recommend for someone new and slowly getting into this? I don’t exactly have a pile of money to invest into new appliances, but I would like to try and go about this properly!

Thanks so much!

loorin.

Comments

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie

“properly” means Excalibur dehydrator. You could get the 5 tray. This will take care of most of the cracker recipes etc. On what size you get really depends on how far you are able to get into raw prep. I am the only one at home who is raw. I have a 5 tray and a 9 tray. One is for regular food prep; bread, wraps, crackers, muffins, crusts, softening veggies like peppers (for stuffed peppers) bacon, nut or grain patties, dry cereals etc. Warming recipes when needed. The 9 tray I use for dehydrating fruits, veggies, creamed soup made into leather to reconstitute later,and dried tomatoes.

I have heard of so many who put the word inexpensive before dehydrators and juicers. So they buy the cheap item and kick themselves for years after.

Two items I use a lot is a wooden citrus reamer and a spaghetti machine.

• Thanks, Beany! I have read a lot about the Excalibur, and I am sure you are right, making the investment now would save my grief later. I have been able to find the 4 tray on ebay for about $110 which I don’t suppose is too terrible in price.

Thanks so much for the insight. I really appreciate it!