Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Really rough detox

Hello everyone -

Im hoping you can help. Im sorry if the post is long but I am looking for some guidance!

Im new to the raw food lifestyle, about 6-7 weeks now. Im about 75% to 80% raw. Im doing ALOT of green smoothies, about 2 quarts a day, spread out through the day and at night, I eat alot of greens with a small amount of cooked food.

I am having a really rough time physically. I *think* this is detox but I just dont know. I felt great for the first 2 weeks or so, tons of energy and all of my normal "symptoms" ( fibromyalgia, fatigue, etc... ) just went away. Then at about week 4 I had a bad stretch of fatigue and gastro type symptoms for a day or two, which resolved itself and I went back to feeling great.

Now, at about week 6 - For the last 7 days, Ive had a TERRIBLE sore throat. The worst. I went to the Dr and its not strep so that has been ruled out. I had the sore throat for about 2-3 days, then some cold symptoms and now, the sore throat/cold is easing up but I have really painful bumps on my tongue and the back of my throat along with a generally nasty looking dirty white coated tongue. My whole mouth is just very painful. Ouch. At night, my whole mouth gets super dry and I can barely swallow.

Ive had no fever and have felt "ok" during this time, some bouts of fatigue and "sick" type of feeling but overall, Ive felt way healthier than normal, except for the throat/cold/tongue thing.

My GP said "detox isnt like that and anyway, you dont detox from a healthy diet". My naturopath is on vacation so I cant ask him, although I suspect he would say it is a "healing crisis" as he calls them. We already know that I am EXTREMELY toxic and hyper sensitive to even the mildest forms of detoxifiying. MSM, for instance - put me over the edge. I was sick as a dog taking!