Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

more leafy greens in my belly

Does anyone have suggestions as to good ways to get more leafy greens in during the day? I eat a ton of lettuce, but other more nutrient rich greens are hard to get in sometimes for me. I can’t get kale or collards where I live and just haven’t found the perfect way to make a parsley smoothie yet. I could just eat more cilantro loaded guacamole, but I know that is not the way. Any tips?

Comments

• Hi Juleskess, I am new to this it is only my first week green, raw and alive, but, look into making green smoothies. I do not have access to kale or collards here, but there is swiss chard, escarole, and chicory greens. I blend that with bananas, oranges, carrots, strawberries whatever is at hand. I cannot get avocados (yet and they are grown here but exported) mangoes, or papayas here but I am making do. Good luck, look up green smootheis. :) Deika.

• PamPam

I also make green smoothies. Check out the book Green for Life by Victoria Boutenko. I make my smoothies very green, with a minimum amount of fruit just to cut the bitterness. Then, I add enough water to make the texture better. My smoothies taste like milk to me. However, since I don’t drink milk and haven’t for years, I’m probably not the best judge of that! At any rate, they allow me to get down 1 1/2 bunches of greens, as well as some parsley, a couple stalks of celery and carrots over a 24-36 hour period.

• Do you juice the greens and parsley first? I have a so-so blender and always end up chewing greens with the smoothie. It´s not juice or smoothie-like at all. erg.

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie