Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

sick a lot.

maybe i should post this in the ‘Health and Beauty’ forum, but since i am fairly new to raw, i decided to post here. I’ve been ovo-lacto vegetarian for 12 years, and about 2 months ago, made the transition to 100% vegan and 80-90% raw. in the past 2 months, i have been sick 3 times, which is unheard of for me. like week-long sickies! i used to maybe get sick once a year… if that. i am very cautious about what i eat, doing my best to watch my labels to make sure i’m getting enough iron, zinc, calcium, vitamins (i do take a b-12 supplement).... but i can’t figure out what’s going on with my body. am i detoxing? i didn’t really eat all that unhealthy before.

has anyone else had an experience like this?

Comments

• WinonaWinona Raw Newbie

I became 100% raw for the past five weeks. I was extremely tired during the first few weeks, and felt slight cold-like symptoms. I slept sometimes 11 hours a day. Before this, i was always physically active, and 70% raw for 3 months, and never sick. Now, after about 4 weeks of sluggishness, i’m finally getting back to normal. allow yourself Plenty of rest, water, fruits and veggies.

• When I feel like I am getting sick I have to cut back on my sugar/fruit intake and take astralagus/schizandra tea and drink reishi/shiitake/miso soup. I felt like I was getting sick a couple times this winter and always stuck to that routine and never did. As long as immune stimulating herbs are not abused they work very well if you feel you are getting run down. Stress and candida can make your immune system weak too. I hope you figure out what is wrong.:)