Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Just getting my feet wet:) Chia Seed??

Just bought some chia seeds and was wondering how much water to soak the in anyone have any advise?? Thank you Also I find cashews to be hard on the digestive tract are macadamian nut or sunflower seeds any better? What is a lighter nut that is easy to digest? Also is there a bottles water that is better for you??

Comments

• WinonaWinona Raw Newbie

Hi Misty! Here’s my two cents – take it with a grain of salt, as I’m new to raw also, and folks have various opinions on this subject. Seeds are generally easier to digest. Cashews almost always aren’t raw – that could be why they’re hard to digest. It’s cause they have a poisonous shell, so they’re always sold with the shell removed – meaning that they’re superheated to remove the shell. It could be possible to buy em raw online. Probably any water that’s free of fluoride and chlorine is good. Try to see if the stores sell places where you can refill your own bottles – instead of using 1 use bottles and creating waste. check out the chia pudding recipe on goneraw, ive never used em.

OOH, and to digest truly raw nuts better, soak em for several hours – that’ll remove the enzyme inhibitors, so you can digest em.

• Thank you so much for your help!! That makes sense to soak them first I missed that step. On the cashew’s I will prob just cut them out..I will check out the recipe Thank you

• RCBAliveRCBAlive Raw Newbie

Combine 1/3 cup of chia seeds with 2 cups of water and put in a sealed container. Shake container. Shake again after 10-15 minutes and then again in another 10 minutes. This prevents clumping. Store in refrigerator.

After making the gel a few times, I no longer measure. If the gel is too liquidy I add more seeds, being sure to shake again. If it is too thick I add more water.