Raw Food Shopping Newbie

Hello Everyone ! I am new to the raw food way of life. I would like some advice from anyone concerning what to purchase when starting this way of eating. What are staples for someone in transition. I need things to be very simple in nature. I don’t have that strong of a will power and I have a tendency to give up easily. Any suggestions would be a tremedous help. Thanks !!!!

Comments

• Hi 4avo!

This is such a personal area it’s a hard question to answer- One thing that can be frustrating is buying a bunch of stuff and then not using it. So first off I would say limit yourself or buy raw things you would normally eat. Are there any nuts you like better than others? Get those. Do you like humus- buy dried garbanzo beans. One thing I would recommend is buying more fruit than you are used to. I was not a big fruit eater and have really gotten into them. I walked into the produce section of the whole foods here and actually was craving the stuff it was if my nose was picking up smells 100x what it normally would. Fresh things just seem to taste better too.

One thing that has helped me is sprouting. I really like the taste though and if you are new then it may be hard to swallow. Of course any salads are good and making a dressing that you’ll really like helps- dressings made with soaked pine nuts and herbs are good.

A lot of raw foodists don’t eat beans. Kidney beans are toxic or just horrible raw so don’t try those but garbanzo beans sprouted a little are great. I have sprouted peas but they are more bitter than you’d think. Mung beans are great and fast!The garbanzos can be soaked for a night and kept in the refrigerator a long time (rinse occasionally). I read that they increase endorphins in your brain- so that is a plus.