Hashimoto's Thyreoditis and raw food, especially raw seaweed

Hi everyone!

I just wanted to ask if there is somebody else around who has been diagnosed with Hashimoto's or Orb's Thyreoditis and therefore should not eat Jod-products.

I have noticed that I can eat them more easily since I have gone raw. I still get pain in my thyroid pretty hefty but it's gone after a day. I just began to eat raw, so it might even be a detoxing symptom ;).

I also noticed that I finally can loose weight... and that I'm not so tired anymore...

but I'm just beginning the journey.

Has anybody else made it through with Hashimoto's? Everybody else who has that disease already considered me crazy and unresponsible because I didn't want to give up my veganism. Of course I can't beginn to tell them I'm raw now...

Greetings and thanks for sharing,

Eva

Comments

• malchusmommalchusmom Raw Newbie

Hi Eva,well i have hypothyroidism and not sure yet but i know most likely i have hashimoto disease too.I also had a goiter(is an enlarge thyroid gland)with 2 nodules on it,but after starting treatment medication wich I HATE!!!!!! the goiter went down. I also became vegan,but i notice this. There is some vegetables(CALL GOITROGENS) that can make out thyroid gland enlarge. If you don't have an enlarge gland i don't think you will have a problem with it.But if you do,be careful eating some of this vegetables. I try one by one and notice that with the ones my thyroid got enlarge were red cabagge,spinach and kale. These 3 i can not eat and i hate it,but i notice what happens after i eat. Here is an article.

Living with this condition and changing your eating habits do amazing things to you. It helps a lot to feel better in all aspects. I got very depress after my diagnose of hypothyroid,but changing my diet totally gave me a diffrent point of view.

This is a long Journey,but just take one day at a time and try to do your best for you and your health.

Here is the article. Hugs!!!!!