Fitness and a raw diet

Hey everyone, I have just started getting into more of a raw based diet. I was hoping it would improve my overall health. Its not that I have any health concerns, other than getting older. I have been on a vegan and macrobiotic diet in the past, but found that my strength and endurance suffered. I have now been adding raw foods and juices to my diet and am just starting to make some raw food recipes. If there are other fitness enthusiasts out there, I would love to hear from your experiences with a raw food diet.

Comments

• joannabananajoannabanana Raw Newbie

i'm majoring in health and physical activity at school, so i'm always doing fitness classes. i've noticed a lot of improvement with my stamina and strength. i used to be so weak but i started powerlifting and i'm surprisingly pretty good at it. i feel best when i eat before and after i work out. usually a smoothie or some fruit. i also get a lot of sleep (good days are 10 hours). the sleep issue is so important because i used to only get about 5-6 hours a night and always needed a nap after school. the more energy you use, the more sleep you need.

• hi steve

i participate in crossfit also. i love it.

do you partake in a paleo type style of eating or are you vegan?

many years ago i was macro too.

i've found that keeping starch and grains out of my diet has really contributed to

a huge increase in energy and has helped my body

in many ways .

looking forward to hearing more about your journey

sincerely,

rona