Hello from VA

I have slowly been heading towards raw. It began about 2 and a half years ago. That was when I became a vegetarian. I had a burger from McDonald’s that made me nauseous and I almost choked on a chicken leg. I decided I did not want to die from chicken, so I quit meat (except seafood, which I ate rarely). It took me awhile to become a healthy vegetarian though because there were no other vegetarians around me. It would have been easier in a big city, I think. But recently I started looking into raw foods. Cooked foods started to feel heavy in my stomach and my stomach did not agree with it. I have been eating salads for lunch on a daily basis for the last few months and noticed that I did not have that afternoon slump (I am an elementary school teacher). I have always loved fruits and I have always been on the search for good vegetable recipes but could never find anything to really satisfy me. Now I know why- I was looking in all the wrong places (cookbooks). I am not 100% raw but I am trying to be as raw as possible. I am eating raw during the day and usually eating at least one cooked item at dinner. I can’t wait until I get my dehydrator! Hopefully, I will be more raw at dinner when I start dehydrating! Can’t wait to try the recipes! I am currently filling up my recipe box with the possibilities! :-) I find that I graviate more towards fruits but I am trying to get in my vegetables. So glad I found this site! I love it and everyone is so nice and helpful!

Comments

• Hello Wanna_B_raw,

I’m also in Virginia. This is a great site for support, motivation and recipes. It’s funny how some of us gravitate towards fruit and others towards vegetables, I’m definately a veggie girl. Many blessings on your journey.

• Where in VA are you? I am in the Hampton Roads area.