A Garden for a Raw Foodist

WhiteAppleWhiteApple Raw Newbie

I'm planning my garden now since I will be starting seeds soon for it. I have read approximate yield per plant and all but most plants regenerate new leaves/beans/fruit. I am wanting to have a garden largely to support my raw diet, so a lot of greens are in the plan. The problem is I just don't know how much to plant of everything. This is my first year of gardening so I am planning in some error but still I am unsure a starting point because most people with a garden don't plan on only eating vegetables but rather to cook that or this from it and not want as much as a raw foodie can eat in the garden.

So far my plan greens wise has around:

96 Turnips plants (I love the greens AND the turnips)

64 Spinach/Baby Spinach plants

24 Kale plants

20 Collard plants

20 Chard plants

Some Lettuce too, still planning!

I want to eat around around a pound of greens a day and put away some for the winter. I am using the square foot gardening method so thats why I have so many of each thing. I feel like I am overdoing it but I don't have a starting place for how much I will need of each thing. I do have some zucchini, tomatoes, beans, melons and other things in the plan but I feel like a lot needs to go towards the greens because I truly want a lot at the time to have then, to share, and to freeze/dry. I eat around a half pound of greens a day and I think that is too low because my hemoglobin is lower than I want it to be and I am pretty active but I am on a budget now so I can't afford all the greens I want. I want to grow enough that I won't have to pay for greens ever and save the money and use it to afford organic fruits all year around as I mostly buy coventinally grown things now.

So I want to hear from raw foodies with gardens to see how much you all plant to support your diet.

Comments

• threnodythrenody Raw Newbie