Raw Vegan, Vegan vs. Paleo?

Hi everyone, I have been a vegan for over year, and eat about 80% raw (can't give up cooked legumes just yet). I recently joined a Cross Fit gym and am in love with it. The only downside is the Paleo attitude of all the members. When the members meet me, they can't believe I am a vegan and are convinced that I won't last or progress in the workouts. They have mentioned that eventually I will eat meat again because I have to. Because Cross fit is mostly strength and power training, I want to prove them wrong. As a marathoner and triathlete, I found no issues with energy being a vegan. I'm just starting out in Cross fit so I don't have anything to compare to but I feel good so far. I'm just wondering if anyone has any insights on the paleo diet and will I improve and increase strength and power without falling victim to cooked meats. I really love the way I feel being a vegan, but I don't want to be fatigued. I want to prove all of the Paleo believers wrong if I can. They don't think getting ripped and fit is possible as a vegan. Any suggestions/insights?

Comments

• powerliferpowerlifer Raw Newbie

It is very possible on vegan, you only have to check out veganbodybuilding.com to see these guys are getting some good results vegan.

Raw im not so sure though as many of the conditionally essential amino acids become hard to sythethise due to low levels of the precursor amino acids being taken in. When the body is trying to sythesis these conditionally essential amino acids then protein sythesis is impaired.

• bittbitt Raw Newbie

The fatigue that some vegans can fall victim to can come from deficiencies in Vitamin B-12 and Vitamin D. Also not enough of the right fatty acids. I would supplement b-12 and D and make sure you get enough hemp, flax, and chia seeds in your diet. A book like "becoming raw" or "becoming vegan" would help make sure your diet is well balanced.