Another New Canadian!

Hello Everyone!

Just wanted to introduce myself and my journey. My name is Jess and I hail from Ontario, Canada (it's snowing today!). I've been vegetarian for nearly 10 years, and first learned of raw food about a year ago. Since then, I have slowly (very slowly!) been becoming more raw. I've been vegan for about four months, and just completed a one month detox where I consumed no caffeine, alcohol, refined grains, table salt, artificial anything, or - a huge one for me - refined sugar. For the last week of the detox I was close to 100% raw (I ate some cashews, which of course aren't truly raw, and drank some herbal tea), and I feel fantastic! I'm now at a point in my life where I feel I can commit to being high raw, and never go back to the dreaded sugar that was sapping my energy and making me sick. This hasn't been easy for me - I used to have a serious sugar binging problem and I work as a baker and server at an ice cream parlor! (Talk about needing a career change, eh?) Right now, I'm allowing myself some cooked whole grains once a week if I feel so inclined, and am otherwise mainly raw. Every Thursday I feast on green smoothies only, which I find helps keep me in check and feeling "rawsome." At the moment, I'm in LOVE with raw lasagna, and I currently have some chick peas sprouting so I can try whipping up some raw chana masala tomorrow, which was one of my all-time favourite cooked meals, especially in the winter since the spices are so warming.