Huge steps

Hey there! I’m new to raw food, but I’ve thought about it off an on for the last year. I finally made the change after my boyfriend and I visited my father, who had tried raw and loved it, and even though he didn’t stay on it he was still juicing everyday. So we juiced while we were there, talked about going raw a lot, and decided to do it. We got back home the day after Thanksgiving, and started as much as we could to incorporate raw foods. By the way, up until that day (thanksgiving) I was a HUGE fan of eating meat, and always defended my right to eat it;but I’ve also had vegan and vegetarian friends and have always been very supportive (even helping them try recipes, since I love cooking). So, in a weeks time I’ve cut out all meat and all dairy. We’ve eaten some breads and sprounted grain wraps, but mostly we’ve been sticking to raw (salads, juicing, the yummy apple cinnamon granola, wraps, veggie “pastas” with raw sauces, ect).

Heres the worry though. Did I cut too much too quickly? I eat when I’m hungry, and I haven’t felt “deprived”, but I also feel a bit low on energy. I’m eating lots of nuts/nut butters and alvacados-so I should be getting my fats and such, but I don’t know. I guess people call it detoxing, but I’ve not been sick its just tireness/weakness in my legs.

Other than that, I’m just trying to learn as much as I can about uncooking foods, while keeping it interesting. I have a dehydrator, and I love it, but its taking some time getting used to figure out when things are really done (since I’ve never worked with this type of stuff before-its not like sticking a toothpick in something when you bake it in the oven XD ).

Lastly, I love this site. I love reading through the recipes, and seeing the comments. I’ve gotten lots of ideas, and can’t wait to try out all the different recipes!

Comments