My journey to raw and how it is for me

Hi Everyone! My name is Savrah. I’ve been eating just about 100% raw since mid April 2007. It happened pretty suddenly, and really organically. It’s kind of a long story, and here is the abbreviated version:

Last March, I spontaneously lost most of the vision in my left eye. It turned out to be this condition called Optic Neuritis, (an inflammation of the optic nerve). The doctors also concluded that there were some little white lesions in my brain, that led them to the conclusion that I had a 50% chance of having some other “flare up”, and being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis over the next year.

I realized quickly that all of this was mainly a result of STRESS- not stress in my daily actions, like the fact that I was super busy- which I was- but stress in my way of being in the world- like I had to be perfect, and to try really hard to control everything, everyone, and all of life- yikes!

Instead of taking the doctor recommended meds, I decided to change everything about the way I was being. I started seeing all kinds of alternative healers. And mostly, I slooooowed down.

I read a book about a guy who went raw and alleviated all of his ms symptoms and hiked the Appalachian Trail. I thought he was crazy for going raw.

I lead some people on a spring cleanse, during which i was eating fruits and vegetables. When we came out of the cleanse, I kept checking in with my intuition around what to eat next. For some reason, I just didn’t want cooked food. I listened to what my body was saying, and I’ve been just about 100% raw since then. ( i ate a couple grilled cheese sandwiches and some bacon at Burning Man- it just felt right at the time, and I have no regrets).