Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Persimmons

How can you tell when they’re ripe? I’ve never tried them before and am looking forward to trying this new food. Thanks!!

Comments

• Which type of persimmon? Fuyus, the kind that look like orange tomatoes, are ripe anytime; you can eat them hard and crunchy like an apple or soft like, well, a tomato. Hachiyas are a more elongated shape and pointed at the bottom; they aren’t ripe until they’re soft as jelly. Trust me, you don’t wanna touch ‘em before that point, unless you have a taste for bitter chalky substances!

• There are several different types of persimmons and they are different when they are ripe. Right now, I have two Tamopans ripening on my counter. These are the ones with a weird indentation around the middle. Tamopans should be completely mushy – as in almost falling apart (be careful not to squeeze a ripe Tamopan too hard – the skin will burst!). I put one in a little bowl and cut the top off and then just eat the insides out with a spoon. I think that Hachiyas are the same, but I’ve never seen them in stores around here. Any “astringent” persimmon should be really soft.

Then there’s the nonastrigent kind. The only variety of these I’ve seen in the store are Fuyus. Fuyus will be firmer when ripe – they can even be cut for a fruit salad. They do need to be a bit soft. I’ve only had these a few times, so I’m not as familiar with them. Apparently you can just eat them like an apple!

Good luck with this new delicious fruit!

• The enchantress beat me to it!

Isn’t that chalky weird part horrible Just the other day, one of my super squishy persimmons still had a bit of that in it and I wasn’t paying attention and put it in my mouth. Yeck!

• Ok, thanks. I believe this kind is the orange tomato kind, the Fuyus.

• DelphineDelphine Raw Newbie

I looooooooooove the ripe Hachiyas ! : )