Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Raw Food Class

spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie

As a gift to my friends, I offered them a raw food class on Saturday, as they are always interested in how I make the food that they enjoy. I am happy to say it was a HUGE success, and I have been encouraged to have them often and charge money for them. What do you all think? For those of you who have done this type of thing as a business, what are the things I have to make sure I do/ don’t do to comply with food handling, etc. I have never worked in the “food business” before. I would love any support, encouragment, and wisdom that you can share. I am just so excited at the possibilities!

Here is the “menu” of what I taught at the class:

Stuffed Mushrooms
Ceasar Salad
Spaghetti Squash pasta w/ marinara
No-Bake ball cookies
- Choco Maca shake w/ goji powder

Comments

• I helped my mom with cooking classes long ago (maybe 20 years!) and we did it in an elementary school with a kitchen that was already “approved”. I’d imagine that if you aren’t “cooking” then you don’t have to use a commercial kitchen. I’m not sure regulations have caught up with the raw food movement!

Sounds like fun. Good luck!

• willmizewillmize Raw Newbie

Congratulations! I’ve read your posts here and your enthusiasm really shines through, that and your kind heart. For a single raw class, with a few dishes similar to yours above, I’ve seen folks charge anywhere from $25 per person to almost $300 per person. Needless to say I think that the $25 is more appropriate, and the $300 ridiculous.
    I wish you the best!

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie