Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Introducing ME!

Hey everyone! My name is Lauren and I’m 23 years old. I am a law student and the combined stress and lack of time has lead me to gain a lot of weight that I’m looking to shed. I have been researching eating raw for a while and I think this is the approach I want to take. I have been eating nothing but crap lately, which in turn makes me feel like crap. I’ve been a vegetarian off and on throughout my life, and I feel like it’s time to stop eating meat again (even though I don’t eat that much of it to begin with). I do have a couple questions though, so any imput is appreciated!

1. Can I do this based on extensive internet research, or should I definitely buy a book to gain the proper knowledge? If so, what book to you recommend?

2. What kitchen materials do you all find to be the most essential to eating raw (i.e. juicer, blender, etc.)?

3. Has you lost weight/maintained a healthy weight through eating raw? [I want to eat raw for the health benefits, but I also want to make sure I can lose weight, since I need to do that to be healthy].

Any tips/info that anyone wants to share would be great!

Comments

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

There is alot of info on forums like this, and also lots of conflicting info which can be confusing when you are starting out. Reading a book helps to clarify and sort out good and bad info.
    I do think it is good to get a few books.

I like Shazzies “Detox your world” – how to go raw plus a few recipes
    Arlin, Dini and Wolfe “Nature’s first law the raw food diet” – reasons for going raw and motivation.
    Ani Phyo “Ani’s kitchen” – lots of recipes and a little “how to” stuff.

You will need a blender and a food processor. I don’t spend a whole lots of money on mine, some spend

• elizabethhelizabethh Raw Newbie