Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

sweeteners

rae-deanrae-dean Raw Newbie

ok i am new to this stuff. my question is-agave is bottled…so how is it raw?and rice syrup is bottled and so is maple syrup.so my choice for sweetening would be dates? right or??are these others actually ok.thanks so much

Comments

• Though used by many raw foodists, maple syrup is not technically raw, nor is rice syrup. They are, however, a better choice than refined and processed sugars. Agave can be raw, just make sure it specifies “raw” on the bottle. Dates are a great choice, but sometimes they need to be soaked and/or pureed for certain recipes, so agave can be convenient in that regard.

• rae-deanrae-dean Raw Newbie

thank u so much rosie.rae-dean

• humanimalhumanimal Raw Newbie

stevia is great and soaked dates that are then blended can make a wicked good syrup. Another One would be fresh pressed sugar cane juice. Your best bet with agave would to buy one that says raw on it, but dont use too much just to be safe :)

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie