Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

raw on a budget

I want to go raw but dont have a dehydrator or a nut blender or anything really besides a juicer and a regular blender. most recipies seem to use a dehydrator or other type of machine, does anyone know of a raw cook book or something that i can follow without all the machines? and can you make nut butters in a regular blender?

Comments

• i’m on a budget- a strict one. I’m a college student living on my own without any support from parents and not much from financial aid.

I don’t really use my dehydrator… at ALL. I’ve used it twice since i bought it. I really don’t think they are absolutely necessary. I rarely use nut butters- they’re expensive and i personally don’t feel like taking the time to make them. They’re almost NEVER truly raw.

You can totally do it! you can be raw without those appliances. Just think of ways to make things without dehydrating. You can make roll up style sandwhiches using lots of different large leafed greens.. and big salads of alll different kinds.. dips are easy to make in blenders and soups and smoothies and puddings…

• I second mango woman. I bought a dehydrator months ago and have barely used it. I have a combo blender/food processor and have been able to make most of my meals with it. You don’t need to get an expensive one, and may even find one on ebay or Craig’s list. You don’t need to be rich to be raw!