Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Raw Foods Eliminated My Menstrual Pain

Okay so I’ve been doing 50% raw for the last two months. I mostly eat raw in the form of smoothies, specifically green smoothies that have one green vegetable, any other sweet veg that is lying around, some ground flaxseed, berries, apple and whatever other fruit is lying around. I eat a shake or two every day and also eat some fruit and some cooked vegan food. I also take calcium supplements because my mother has osteoporosis.

My last two periods have been pain free! For all my adult life (20 years of menstruation) I’ve had knock-me-out blinding pain every month until now!

It’s a revelation. I also get about an hour less sleep a day. That’s kind of cool too. Anyway, thought I would share.

Comments

• hi choctastic,
    great to hear, makes me want to eat more raw when i hear about pain free periods. I try to eat at least one full meal raw and all snacks raw. I sometimes have raw breakfasts or dinners as well (usually all the food at lunch at work is raw). I was thinking that perhaps considering how much green smoothies you consume you probably don’t need to be taking a calcium supplement, green food is great for this.

• CarmentinaCarmentina Raw Newbie

Choctastic, one of the greatest benefits of eating RAW and healthy in general is improving health – maybe even where you weren’t expecting it. If you had painful periods it could be something like endometriosis. I had terrible pain and it DISAPPEARED withing days after beginning a specific diet that was mostly RAW, no dairy, no sugar, no caffeine, no alcohol, no meat but lots of fish.
    :)

• germin8germin8 Raw Master

That is great to hear choctastic. I used to get (minor) physical signs I was just about to start my cycle… and in 2000, when I drank 64 oz of water a day, they went away.

• Wonderful!