Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Light recipe recommendations

JoyceHJoyceH Raw Newbie

Now that I’ve been eating raw for the past 6 months, I don’t feel the need to make so many raw gourmet desserts and dinners that are loaded with nuts, fats, dates, agave, etc. I can appreciate that raw versions of cooked ‘junkfood’ are great for transitioning as they helped me somewhat (even though I didn’t eat much junk before going raw). However, I am now at the stage where I feel the need for lighter recipes and foods.

What are some light recipes that you have tried from this site that you absolutely love? So far I’ve enjoyed some of the califlower based recipes like ‘couscous’. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Wouldn’t it be nice to have a “light” category in the recipe section?

Comments

• Yes JoyceH, it would be nice to have a light category! A simple, light smoothie that I have posted on this website is a cleasing kind of smoothie, but tastes delicious , and it’s called Sunrise Smoothie. But that’s not really food.
    I’ve found that eating a light salad of fresh spinach, and a tad of olive oil and vinegar is very satisfying, while not too heavy.
    Also, you can make a nice light sushi out of:
    raw nori, cut into thick strips
    jicama, chopped into rice in a food processor
    So just roll some of the jicama rice into the nori and it’s light while yummy too. I like adding shiitake mushroom to it sometimes also.
    To tell you the truth, eating lots of fruit is filling sometimes, if your not too hungry.
    Hope this helps.

• One of my favorite things is a simple guac (avocado, garlic, tomato and squirt of lime) spread in a big leaves (romaine, whatever) folded and enjoy. Simple, light, filling!

• pianissimapianissima Raw Newbie