Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

raw questions

I am currently on the MC and I plan to dive into raw eating after I am done. Excuse me if I sound ignorant but I am very new to the raw life. I was wondering what’s wrong with cooking food that can’t be eaten raw such as white potatos and rice…? I just want to understand a raw foodist mentality. Didn’t God create these foods for us to eat? My husband also thinks that fish was created for human consumption because the bible makes reference to eating fish. Can someone please explain the reason for avoiding cooking some foods? Also, why aren’t there any recipes for dehydrated white potatos? I woild think they would make a nice thin crisp chip. Are they still toxic if dehydrated? I am reading The complete book of raw food and hopefully that will enlighten me on the hundreds of questions I have. Thanks

Comments

• Actually I have always liked raw potatos and haven’t noticed any bad effects from them. Not to be offensive, but does your husband believe everything the bible says?

• Cooked foods have their goodness destroyed by heat. Some foods can’t be eaten raw for toxin reasons. The toxin in potatoes is only destroyed at high temperature so I dont think dehydrating would work. Keep asking questions, it’s a good thing! Good luck.

• Cooking not only destroys the nutrients, but also our body reacts to cooked food like poison.
    Here is an article that may help:
    http://www.rawguru.com/rawvscook.html