Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Need a little medical advice please

So, I’m in the process of doing a parasite cleanse because I was planning on doing a liver/gallbladder cleanse in the next week or so. But here’s the thing… I have this weird feeling that I might be pregnant. Just in case I am, I stopped taking the walnut hull stuff this morning cuz it has alcohol in it. Anyway, I would really still like to do a liver cleanse either way, but I was wondering if it would still be ok to do if I am pregnant? My body handles heavy duty cleanses pretty well, but of course I wouldnt want it to have any bad effects on the baby.

Comments

• I’m not an expert, but I read somewhere that detoxing or cleansing when being pregnant is not a good idea as the toxins etc end up polluting the baby. Definitely not medical advice.. but just something I saw somewhere.. You should find out if you are pregnant before considering continuing.

• Definitely do not do it.

It sucks when you want to get on with stuff, but I’m afraid there is just too much evidence to suggest that everything you detox from your own body goes straight down the umbilical cord to your developing baby. My main worry was things like mercury (which concentrates itself when being sent to the baby, as well!, and is extremely bad for neurological development…), plus other toxins such as PCBs etc. Now these things get sent to the baby anyway (breastmilk is absolutely chock full of the stuff too) but if you are de-toxing such that your body has more of it to “spare” then it is likely to be in far higher quantities.

I’m due in about two weeks and discovering raw halfway through this pregnancy was a pain in the butt, frankly – wanting to detox at the same time as paradoxically trying to protect my baby while still eating much the way I did before is playing hell with me emotionally!

But I know I can do this later.