Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

how did you "come out"?

suzyqsuzyq Raw Newbie

Hi everyone! I’m really new to raw food, just starting actually. My plan is to transition slowly, although more and more I feel like I might just need to ‘take the plunge’...

Anyway, my question is about how all of you handled the social part of eating raw. How did you tell your friends and family?

I’m thinking back to years ago when I first stopped eating meat—all the questions, skepticism, even harassment from my (extended) family. My grandma still serves me bowls of beef stew, then blushes and apologizes and says she’s sure I can just pick out the chunks of beef. It all makes me feel guilty when I go back home to visit, like I’m putting some burden on them to prepare special foods (I would NEVER ask them to, I can feed myself), or like they think I’m trying to lord it over them that I eat healthier and am therefore a better person (I DON’T think this)...

Which is all to say, I can’t imagine their reactions if I were to tell them I’m planning to start eating mostly raw food.

So how did you all handle this with friends and family? I’d love to hear stories or advice, anything you can offer! Thanks!

Comments

• I still find this sooo hard – I’ve only been raw for about 6 months, so it’s coming up more and more as I get together with people I haven’t seen for a while.

I refuse to be defined by what I DON’T eat, which is why I hate it when friends etc always ask “so what is it that you’re not eating again?!”. I prefer to focus on what I DO eat. So if someone asks me about my diet I say that I just prefer to eat fresh fruit and veges, and living foods.