Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Introductions Are In Order

Hello every(raw)body! My name is Adria and I am a 33 year old graduate student living in Portland, Oregon. I’m getting my Master’s in Teaching but am also a lifelong singer/songwriter/actor/goofy creative person.

I have been overweight since the age of eight and have a form of chronic depression called dysthymia. I also display signs of having polycystic ovaries. I have never been diagnosed with any major endocrinological imbalances (only a slightly underactive thyroid), but my suspicion has always been that it’s all connected and that once I find the key, all these things will be healed simultaneously. Four years ago, when I found Shazzie’s website and started reading about raw foods, I believed I had possibly discovered that key.

I started to go raw, felt incredible, but then had some traumatic events occur and allowed that to take precedence over my health. Over the last four years I’ve gained weight and lost it, fluctuating between 153 and 189, but mostly hovering around 168. At 5’2”, I should be around 130. Every year around springtime, I have been drawn back to the idea of going raw. This time, I mean it.

When I began looking into raw foods last week I weighed 188. As of this morning, I weigh 184. Also, I feel terrific. I’m rediscovering what true hunger is and, because the food is so nutrient-dense, I’m getting through the day on much less of it. I have one meal a day in which I eat cooked foods and the rest of the time I’m totally raw. My goal is to be 100% raw by my birthday in August. I am not a vegetarian and will probably continue to eat fish.