Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Fermented veg.

I LOVE fermented vegetables and was wondering if anyone here makes there own.I buy them in bags at a local store and thought it would be cheaper to make my own, but am a bit worried about bacteria. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Comments

• Hi mham,

I am new to this and live in an area where I have to make everything, I will look up fermented vegetables. Good suggestion :) deasmiles

• Hi deasmiles

I’ve looked it up many times and it looks risky.Let me know what you find out.

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

I tried making sauerkraut. I followed instructions from Renee Underkoffler’s Living Cuisine Book.

I made it a couple of years ago now, see if I can remember what I did…I processed some cabbage in the food processor, put it into a big jar with some salt I think, put cabbage leaves on the top. I left it for a few days. It stank out the house. Hubby said it tasted fine, I strongly disagreed and haven’t made it since!

I am sure that it was my ineptness that made it nasty, I probably made a mistake somewhere along the way, the smell of fermenting cabbage just put me off for good though. The recipe method was pretty easy as I remember. I don’t see how it could be seen as a dangerous thing to try, I mean, those bacteria are the good kind aren’t they? It is only rotting plant matter not rottng flesh.

• Process the cabbage, add some salt, just to make it juicy, and put some sort or weight on it. The goal is that the liquid rises above the cabbage. Let it sit for 1-10 days, depending on your tastes. Then refridgerate and it lasts for weeks.

• Hi, MammaCassa

Should be left the jar in a warm area?

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

I left mine in a warm room, all the books say to do that. They also say to make sure the jar is scrupulously clean, and ever some suggest bleaching it. I didn’t do that and is probably why mine was so awful!