Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

raw power!

Hi! I’m a 19 year old student from British Columbia. I’ve been on this site for half a year lurking, reading advice and finding sublime raw recipes. I thought I should introduce myself and maybe contribute some of the things I’ve learned in my raw journey so far.

I’ve been vegetarian all my life and for the past six months I’ve been eating about 80% raw. I had a 100% streak for a couple months there, which was nice, but I’m back to 80% now. I’d like to be 100%, but I’ve struggled with an eating disorder so I’m trying not to be too all-or-nothing in my thinking. An increase in fresh, raw, unprocessed plant food is a positive thing!

I think it’s a little taboo to talk about it, but I’ve read some raw foodists have dental problems. I feel like a bit of a traitor even when bringing it up, but I’ve noticed my gums have been receding lately. Also there is a mystery line going down one of my front teeth The only major change I’ve made is going raw. I had a very “anything goes, as long as it’s raw” attitude, which resulted in me eating way more dried or acidic fruits than I would have normally. I was so sad when I noticed how low my gums were because I felt like I had discovered my ideal diet in every other way. I suppose my gum trouble could be related to some other variable. Since I noticed I was showing more tooth than I’d like, I’ve gone back to eating some cooked food. I’ve also upped my intake of greens and sea vegetables. I don’t want to go back to eating cooked food but I was freaked. Anyone have advice on receding gums or keeping teeth healthy on a raw diet?