Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Newbie here, what basic things should I have?

Hi all! I’m Allie and completely new to the raw food lifestyle. That being said I’m not sure where to begin. So, I was wondering what basic items/foods/etc. should I have? What are some of your “go to” snacks that are easy to make? Any tips, suggestions, etc would be wonderful!

Oh! And if you have any book recs about the transition into raw that would be all kinds of awesome! I read The Raw Food Detox diet awhile ago, but I think I’m going to attempt it again…

Thank you guys :).

Comments

• Well I’m pretty new too, Getting close to a month but havent totally gotten the hang of it. I find obviously fresh fruit should always be kept on hand and big colorful salads. If your not to worried about calories nuts and almond butter are my favorite! I have just in the past few days found that I love frozen mango, its like a dessert and helps with a sweet tooth. So far I’ve used my blender like crazy, especially for green smoothies and soups and such. I actually don’t have a dehydrator… yet. but it seems that a lot of delicious looking recepies call for one. Hope this helps a little. I’m pretty new too but have been reading a TON of stuff.

• WinonaWinona Raw Newbie

ants on a log, http://www.goneraw.com/recipes/1387-Dancing-Chi… (for the dancing chicken salad, don’t process the nuts until smooth – i enjoy them processed into small, still crunchy little pieces. enjoy it on apple slices. it’s heavenly!) http://www.goneraw.com/recipes/1064-falafel-bal… http://www.goneraw.com/recipes/66-Parsnip-Pine-...