New

Hi everyone.

I’m brand new to this – have been eating close to 100% raw for two weeks now. Prior to that I had the typical SAD with lots of meat and cheese and breads. I’ve been feeling a couple things for a while before going raw;

1. the bad feeling in my tummy after most meals; 2. not being satisfied nutritionally; 3. being tired, lethargic; 4. being unhappy in my skin,

Last year I competed in a half Ironman triathlon (Swim 1.2 miles, Bike 56 miles, Run 13.1 miles – or for my fellow canadians 2K swim, 90K bike, 21K run) and my body after all the training did not change the way I expected it to from 12 hours/week of intense cardio training. I’ve pretty much given up on being below 165 on my 5’5 framed body but now wonder if I am not storing lots of bad stuff together with all the fat and won’t let go of it until I start eating like I should be eating (which I’m starting to feel is REALLY RAW!).

I am loving all the foods I can eat. I bought a juicer, and yesterday a food processor. Next is the dehydrator. I just made a nice carrot, tomato and beet juice and snacked on raw beets while making it. Yum!

I hate to admit I havent given up coffee yet. Any ideas? Do I have to do that cold turkey…. aiieeee….

And I am having troubles determining if things are really raw – especially nuts which I’d like to eat more of (have cashew and pistachio cravings). Even at the organic food store the labels don’t generally say if the nuts have been roasted/pasturized/boiled. Any tips on finding really raw nuts?

Anyway, I’ve been reading around here for the past couple of weeks and I’m excited about my raw adventure…

:)

Comments

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie