Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

My big black thumb

So I’ve finally convinced my mother to let me put a garden in our back yard. Something that’s been an ongoing battle since we have very little space. But I’m hoping to save a little $$$ by growing my own _. One problem. I’ve never grown anything (successfully) before. My last attempt at gardening was a bean plant in the second grade that was the first in our class to die. I have no experience with this and although I’m excited I don’t know where to start. I live in a climate where we have three seasons: winter, almost winter, and construction. (central alberta, canada) and I have no idea what I could plant here that would give me the biggest bang for my effort buck. What kinds of vegetables are hard to kill? And does anyone have experience growing a veg garden in a similar location? I’d love some advice. What about fertilizer? I was thinking I should start composting although that will take some more work on my mother ( I can here it know… “NOOOOOO”) I have no idea how to compost though. I was thinking so far some carrots tomatoes cucumber and a few different kinds of green leafy goodness. But like I said I have limited space.

Comments

• bittbitt Raw Newbie

Go to the library and check out some gardening books on cold weather gardening. You could build a cold frame or hoophouse for greens. You will need to perhaps either buy starts (more chance of success) or start some plants inside. Chard and kale are pretty cold-hearty. Composting take a LOT of work to do it right. YOu might want to try having a worm bin instead. Go to your nearest farm/garden supply store and they will help you too. They ought to know what grows best in the soils in your region and the times to start planting things. I have read lots about growing greens in the dead of winter in maine.