Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Inexpensive appliances?

I’m very new to raw foods and have been scouring the net for info, and it seem s a lot of recipes are calling for dehydrators, juicers, blenders, food processors, etc. Plus, it seems that the blenders and whatnot are $300-$400 for the VitaMix and similar quality.

Do I really need top of the line appliances for this, or will a nice trip to the thrift stores and craigslist still work just fine?

Also, I live in Phoenix and the farmers markets aren’t that great, and Whole Foods costs too much. What do those of you on a more limited budget do to stay raw? I’ve already intentionally simplified my life quite a bit, so the common “Simplify!” response won’t be of much help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• I would say “pick your battles”. You will be thankful for a decent blender – you just can’t make a good smoothie without it. The Vitamix is the superstar but my Cuisinart does the job and cost 1/3 of the price. I purchased a medium grade juicer and it works fine. My food processor is also mid-priced and does everything that I need it to do. I haven’t purchased my dehydrator yet but am saving for the Excalibur. That is just my choice. It isn’t difficult to find a dehydrator but it is challenging to find one with a temperature control. There is a cute little unit on the market made by Nesco that has a temp control. You can pick it up for about $60-$70. There are lots of people on this site that swear by it.

So, in a nutshell, I would spend decent money on the blender and the dehydrator but haunt the thrift stores for a food processor and juicer.

Good luck.

• michigan romanmichigan roman Raw Master

belows a link to a good thread on budgeting on raw =

http://www.rawfoodtalk.com/showthread.php?t=225…;38 ..