Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Crying in the name of raw...

Hello all.

I’m new to all this, and have been trying my best to adapt to the raw foods lifestyle, but I’m struggling a little bit. I’m limited financially, so I haven’t been able to go out and buy all the ingredients that would be most helpful in this diet… the prices for olive oils and genuinely “raw” foods seem to rival those of brand-new DVDs; twenty dollars for this, fifteen dollars for that… it’s all a little more than my wallet can afford to stretch.

Any way. For at least the past week, I’ve been eating primarily “raw” foods, despite lacking most of the ingredients pertinent to majority of the recipes I’ve come across. My problem is this: I’m having much difficulty feeling inspired/satisfied… and I attribute part of that to the fact that I don’t have things like olive oil and nuts and grains and bountiful mounds of green vegetables to use, uninhibitedly, in large quantities (as in all the “green juices” that are reputable to be so healing); I haven’t once yet made a meal that I’ve liked, for all I’ve been able to do is puree what I have into mush or chop my vegetables into bland piles.