Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

raw runner

Hi everyone! i’ve been reading the forums for a while, but I figure I should probably start participating as well!

I’m a musician and a runner. I’ve been on the journey to find ideal nutrition for my music-making and my marathon-training for years, and it’s finally come to “drastic” measures! I have been slowly going towards raw food for about 4 months, and have been 99% raw for about 7 weeks. I will run my first “raw” half-marathon in just a couple of weeks. My family, although supportive, thinks i’m a bit nuts, but I feel fine on raw food. I love the feeling of discovering what’s best for ME, not what the USDA’s and FDA’s finances say what’s best for me and my health.

I haven’t experienced anything earth-shattering so far; no huge detox, nothing like that. I just feel more alive. the only “cooked” item I crave is coffee, but those cravings are diminishing. Now, if only I could lighten up on the nuts and dried fruits… sometimes I feel like all I want to do is stuff them in my face! I assume those cravings, too, will start to diminish. I am currently trying to up the intake of green juices and smoothies, and thinking about getting a dehydrator.

I’m not eating raw in order to lose weight or cure major diseases. I have had some “food issues” in my life, but nothing out of the ordinary for a modern female I suppose. Raw food seems to make me feel calmer in that area of my psyche. Mostly, I just realize that things that come from our wonderful earth MUST be most healthy in their most natural forms, so why change them? Why fix what ‘aint broke?

anyway, i know this is a long post, but… well… hello everyone! I look forward to communicating, debating, celebrating, and sharing with all of you!

Comments

• AKAAuburnEyesAKAAuburnEyes Raw Newbie

Hi Kayo,

Best of luck to you in the marathon and transitioning to raw :)