A new beginning?

I was planning on possibly doing a 3-day fast starting tomorrow, it would be primarily a water fast. Fasts are suppose to detoxify and cleanse your system, right? I was wondering if this fast could perhaps eliminate my urge to over-eat and sort of gorge on things like fruit and nuts? I’m having a difficult time listening to my body and taking things in moderation… would a fast disrupt my binging patterns and help to sort of “rewire” me?

Comments

• MeditatingMeditating Raw Newbie

For the last 12 years, I can’t imagine that anyone has been more obsessed with food than I have. I thought about it every day and every moment. If I posted the details, it would absolutely flip these goneraw people out. When it started, I weighed 120 pounds and in a little over a year I weighed 260 pounds. From 1996 until early this year, food has been the substitute for all the voids and wants in my life.

In January I did a brief Master Cleanse, which is like a fast. My only desire was to detox and see if it would help me with some medical issues. I knew I wouldn’t make it because it was me. I just focused on making it through the first day, which wasn’t as hard as I thought because I had no food decisions to make. What I was going to have was already decided. The next day, I just focused on doing it that day and there were no decisions. Somewhere along the line, I had an epiphany, “I don’t have to think about food!” It was practically a religious experience for me and I had an awakening, a gift, I didn’t think possible. I learned that I can control food and food doesn’t have to control my life. My obsession with food is over. It is finally over and it has not returned since my fast. I eat when I need to and I allow myself to enjoy but I almost don’t give a damn about it anymore. Who knew?

This is my personal experience and there is no guarantee that you would have the same experience but I think you should try it. It liberated me. Best of luck to you.