Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

High calorie raw

Greetings!

I’m pretty new to being raw, and I recently decided to increase my daily calorie intake greatly, to at least 4,000 per day. I realize the challenge implied here, but the absolute last thing I need is to lose weight…in fact, I really need to gain it.

If anybody has any particular food ideas, recipes, or tips, I’d be infinitely grateful!

Comments

• Heh, I just saw a thread similar to this one. I apologize, should have looked a little first, just figured this wasn’t a common issue in the raw world! ; )

• Welcome to the board. My suggestion is to use a site like nutridiary.com or fitday.com It is free to join them as a regular member and you can input your daily foods and see how many calories you get as well as the % carbs, % protein and % fat. In order to eat that much calories you will need to do some strength building exercises. It is not a good idea to go over 15% fat on a regular basis (others on this board disagree but science and many doctors both from the raw world and the vegan world agree). This means that you will need to consume huge amounts of food. It could get expensive as raw foods are not as calorie dense as cooked food. Hope I helped you some.

• Thanks for your reply, it’s much appreciated.

Yes, I signed at fitday after reading JKD’s thread (coincidentally I also practice Jeet Kune Do, twice a week). It’s less practical than I hoped, as I ate out today and don’t know the quantities. Also challenging is entering values for things like mixed fruit…