Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Are there any foods not suitable to be eaten raw?

Hi! I’m completely new to raw food, in fact I just found out about it yesterday, but I find it immensely intriguing. I was just wondering, is there anything I should look out for or avoid?

Comments

• CarmentinaCarmentina Raw Newbie

Eggplant is edible. I’d say your best option is to thumb through the recipes on this site and you’ll be surprised to find out that most veggies are edible and yummy raw. I personally don’t like pumpkin/squash raw for it’s flavor, but that’s about it. I’ve also discovered that sprouted beans are not good for me, whereas others have no problem with them. Just don’t exaggerate the first time you eat something. I once juiced a whole lot of dandelion, and it sent me running to the porcelaine throne like the sprouted beens do. Although small amounts of dandelion are fine. Your body will be quick to tell you what works for you and what doesn’t, just stay alert to it. Good luck!

• elizabethhelizabethh Raw Newbie

the following foods should not be eaten raw: kidney beans (toxic), regular potatoes (sweet potatoes and jicama are fine), the edible(ness?) of raw eggplant is disputed…personally i’m not a fan, soybeans are also disputed (sprouted soybeans are considered by some to still be harmful)...i think that’s it. and in terms of rawness, because lots of people new to raw ask these types of questions, anything canned or generally sold in a jar or something at a regular store has been pasteurized and therefore is not considered raw. although it’s fine for transitioning obviously.

• suzyqsuzyq Raw Newbie