Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Making Raw Chocolate

Hi Everyone! :)

I’m quite new to Gone Raw, found you guys while searching for some recipes.. One of the recipes I found and tried was the one for Raw Chocolate. It was delicious, however I did have one problem. When making the mixture (coconut oil, raw carob powder, raw chocolate powder, agave nectar) the same problem happens every time. All the agave nectar does not dissolve into the mixture, but rather forms little balls which all sink to the bottom, no matter how much I try and mix them. When I put the mixture into the trays and in the fridge, the same thing happens, all the agave sinks and I end up with solid chocolates with syrup on top! This means one side is too sweet and the other not sweet enough.

I’m using the dark (rich) form of Agave, I wonder if the lighter version might mix better? Otherwise any suggestions very much appreciated! I think I might try it with raw honey instead.

Comments

• Morning_theftMorning_theft Raw Newbie

I typically use honey when making raw chocolate, and have had the same problem with honey that was most likely heated and in liquid form. Strange, no? Well the best solution I came to so far was to not use the oil (coconut or cacao) liquidize completely but to use it in a soft buttery form when mixing up. It holds on to the sweetener better.

• Thanks Morning Theft, will give that a go.

Yeah, it is a bit strange. It almost acts like oil does it water, like it just won’t dissolve and remains in bubbles or clumps.. I noticed one time when I bought a bar of raw chocolate that was melting, the same thing happened, the nectar seemed to separate from the rest of the chocolate. Perhaps it’s not the best sweetener for making raw chocolate? I’m going to try others..

• angie207angie207 Raw Master