Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Young Coconuts

I’m new to the raw thing 3+ weeks. I keep seeing all these recipes for young coconuts but I have no idea where to find them. I know people say the Asian Market, but what if you live in a small town. I live in Colorado and the closest large town to me is Grand Junction. Any ideas?

Rockma

Comments

• Rockma – market street, fiesta, carnival, mexican markets usually sell young coconuts. do you have any of those stores? also talk to your local grocer and ask them to carry them – usually they will accomodate and work with the produce buyers.

• angie207angie207 Raw Master

My grandparents lived in Grand Junction, and it’s where my parents both grew up :) I used to go there 3 or 4 times a year when I was a kid. How close are you? Do they have an Asian Market? I drive 30 minutes one way to buy young coconuts by the case from an Asian market, because they are a dollar cheaper per coconut than buying them at the health food store or grocery store close to me. I sometimes use them a lot, so I buy a case or two at a time – if they are fresh when I buy them, they usually last a week or so in the fridge. I hope you get access to some soon; they are like heaven to me – the water has lots of electrolytes and is fabulous if you’ve been out in the sun, or exercise a lot, or are recovering from the flu, etc. I love the meat all by itself or in drinks, puddings & pies – YUM! Maybe I’ll have some young coconuts today. :)