holistic education

Greenfish33Greenfish33 Raw Newbie

Hello there- I am new to the website but have been interested in healthy living for as long as I can remember. I have always been interested in helping people, and when deciding my career path when scheduling classes for freshman year this fall I wanted to take the pre-med path. However, I have absolutely no interest or belief in western medicine. My belief in eastern medicine being superior, I have this simple question to ask anyone who reads this: are any of you familiar with reputable holistic universities? I am more interested in a campus atmosphere, but if there are any online schools that offer a thorough education parallel to that of a campus education, I’d be willing to look into those. Any replies to this post will be greatly appreciated! Thanks a ton. emily

Comments

• hey greenfish. I’m right there with you! I am a premed student and majoring in nutrition. I am planning on furthering my education after college and going to a naturopathic college to become a naturopathic Dr. (or something like that) I have always loved learning about the alternative medicine field, but for right now the pre-med and nutrution education seems to allow me to get the proper ground work knowledge and then I’ll get to learn about the fun stuff later!

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie

Bastyr University in Seattle/ Bothel Washington (state). They have a FANTASTIC program with many holistic “professions” to choose from. Also, Southwest Institute of Naturopathic Medicine in Arizona is another great one. Hope this helps!

• Greenfish33Greenfish33 Raw Newbie

Thanks so much ladies! It’s so great to know the field of holistics is expanding at such a drastic rate! So hopefully by the time I’m ready to transfer to such an institution there will be more choices. Makes since that there would be one in Arizona- mecca of Raw Spirit Festival. I’ll definitely check into that one. Peace and Love- emily

TammiTrue