heeeeyyyy, there

i’m michele. i’m new to goneraw. i’m new to conscious raw eating.

but i’m not new to food or spontaneous, random raw eating. i was one of those kids who was always chomping on an apple or trying to smuggle bits of half-chewed meat out in her socks b/c she’d already filled up on carrots and kiwi before dinner, ha.

summer’s upon us and i am STOKED not just b/c i love the heat & sun but b/c the farmer’s market is back in the park 2 days a week and locally grown & organic produce is everywhere and almost cheap! since childhood, i’ve always ended up eating more raw, fresh produce in warm months or countries w/ warm climates—i’ve just decided to actually PLAN to do so & be conscious about it this summer.

b/c i’ve never made a deliberate point about it in the past, i don’t know if i’ve tended to be 30%, 40%, 50% raw in summertime or what, but i’m guessing i’ve hovered between 35-50% just spontaneously.

i’m hoping to be about 60-75% raw through june and then see how i feel about sticking with that or upping it for the remainder of the summer. and then at the end of the summer, i’ll see what i want to do about fall…

i’m thrilled to have found goneraw.com b/c i have so many questions (so many answered already in the forums, i see!) and am digging the recipe section so much. i’ve also been happy to find lots of other runners & athletes on here because i KNOW i’ll be having issues w/ diet & running (stepping up my mileage two years ago is part of what broke my 11-year vegetarian streak, actually. i had become a somewhat sloppy or unmotivated, uninspired vegetarian b/c i was stressed with work; running helped me deal with the stress, but my body didn’t appreciate the increase in my running mileage/intensity while having a lackluster, incomplete vegetarian diet! catch-22, health-wise!).

so. i’m starting out. i’m excited to be here & can’t wait to learn about healthful, conscious raw eating from all of you!

Comments