Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

transitioning a toddler to raw - help!

Hi raw parents – you are exactly who I need to talk to!

I’m fairly new to raw – just a few months now, and am maintaining about 80% raw.

I also have a toddler who is in the “I only eat a few foods” phase of life.

Of course he eats fruit, and I give him lots of it. He will drink a few sips of my green smoothie if I use a straw – so of course I do. But this isn’t consistent – sometimes he will, sometimes he won’t.

He will eat cashews, and he likes SOME of the cookies I make in the D, but that’s really about it.

I’ve recently read more about the acid/alkaline balance in the body and the list of acid foods. Among them things like meat (even chicken, which is a staple in our house before raw) and bread (a staple for him).

How on earth can I get him to eat more raw foods? He is keen to my tricks and also notices when I WANT him to eat something – and generally won’t. He is VERY sensitive to energy, so I cannot fool him really.

Obviously this takes time, but he also has pooping issues since he started solids (having to do with his sensitivity, he holds it in because he doesn’t like the way it feels to poop). I feel like if we make the transition to raw for him as well, these issues might resolve more easily (alkaline body!).

I bought some chia seeds to try and sneak into something (if he sees the little dark seeds in something he will likely not eat it – he is such a purist), but I honestly haven’t figured out what to do with them yet.

So um, help! Any help is greatly appreciated (x-posting this on every board I am on for extra help).

Comments