Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Healing acne

I’ll be honest: one of the primary reasons I became interested in the raw food diet/lifestyle in the first place was because of the vibrant, glowing skin that so many raw folk seem to have. All these forums always seem to say that raw eating leads to smooth, soft, glowing skin.

Now, I realize I’m being a little impatient here. I’ve been eating about 75% raw for about 5 months, and I only just went 100% raw on May 19. The same day that I stopped drinking alcohol and coffee. But I still have really terrible, painful, ugly adult acne. Deep, red, throbbing cystic acne, that I’ve suffered from throughout all of my 20’s (about 8 years – strangely, I didn’t have bad acne as a teenager, but this developed later). As much as I strive to be an all-natural girl, I just don’t feel comfortable going without makeup because of this condition. It causes a lot of stress in my life (which, in turn, probably makes the acne worse, in a perpetuation cycle).

Right now I’m working on a 3-pronged approach: 1) patience while I stick with a 100% raw diet, and trying to reduce my fat intake. 2) drinking lots of water 3) massaging my skin with coconut oil twice a day, while thinking messages like “love” and “health.”

I’m wondering if anyone can give me any other advice as to healing acne naturally? What cleansing and moisturizing products have worked for you? What type of diet has worked for you? For those of you who have overcome acne through a raw lifestyle, how long did it take? Are there any special foods I should be eating and/or avoiding?

I will really appreciate any insights and experiences that anyone can provide. Thanks!

Comments

• CarmentinaCarmentina Raw Newbie