Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Blender vs. Food Processor (vs. Mandoline)

Hi everyone! So my food processor (cheap Black & Decker) finally crapped out on me. I was thinking about buying a new one, but it occurred to me that maybe my money is better spent toward a nice blender. Right now I have a cheap (Hamilton Beach) blender which is sufficient, but probably won’t last much longer (there’s a burning smell when I use it, gross!). I realized I mostly used my food processor to pick up the slack for what my blender can’t to (e.g., grind nuts); I don’t really use it to chop things very often. So here is my question: do you think it is better to have a high-quality blender INSTEAD OF a food processor? Or is it better to have medium quality of both? If no food processor, can a mandoline do similar things? Any recommendations would be appreciated! I’m a student, so I’d really hate to waste my money! :-) Thanks!

Comments

• BTW, I should clarify: when I say “high-quality blender,” I don’t mean a VitaMix. I’d love one, but I just can’t afford it right now. I’m thinking about the KitchenAid ProLine blender, but if anyone has any brand suggestions, I’d appreciate that, too!

• germin8germin8 Raw Master

Waring.. and Oster. Someone here has a website that mentions they used the Oster 500 w before getting the VitaMix. http://www.perfectsmoothie.com/smoothie-blenders/