HELP! My nuts keep molding...

I know, that title is funny. :-) But its true! I am fairly new to raw and still learning, and I haven’t yet gotten the hang of soaking nuts. I soak them overnight, rinse them well, and then dry them…and each time, they end up moldy a couple days later!

The first batch I air-dried (which I had read works fine). They never really dried, so I wasn’t that surprised when the mold formed. So I tried again. Soaked them, rinsed them, and dried them on low heat in my oven with the door ajar (I don’t yet own a dehydrator, but my oven thermometer said it was about 100 degrees). This time they got bone dry, and once they cooled I put them in air-tight containers. I just looked at them and – surprise surprise – ALL of them were moldy again!!!

I can’t waste anymore of my money this way, so I don’t know what to do. I do live in a hot and humid environment (Florida)...maybe that has something to do with it? Please help – I just started soaking more nuts (this was before I realized the second batch was moldy, so it was too late), and I’d hate to see more money and food go in the trash! Any advice??? Thank you!

Comments

• Are you storing them in your refridgerator? Once you soak the nuts, even if you are dehydrating/drying them they have germinated and are still perishable. You have to store them in the fridge and even then they are only good for about a week/2 tops. Does this help at all? I hope so :)

• Oh…maybe that’s it! No, I was definitely storing them in my cupboard, and they molded in about 4 days!! I’ll keep this batch in the fridge and hope for the best. (I may need a bigger fridge, LOL.) Thanks!

• rachel_akikorachel_akiko Raw Newbie

Eww, that’s so gross. I’ve never seen a nut mold before, actually. :P

• WinonaWinona Raw Newbie

Even storing them in the fridge, they WILL mold if left over a week usually – use them in under 7 days.

• TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie