What does 50% raw look like? 75%?

Hi everyone – I am totally new to raw foods and want to minimize the impact of detoxing as I move towards a 75-90% raw diet, so I just want to start small and go slow. Can anyone tell me what their food life looked like when they were 50% raw? I’m just having a hard time figuring out the difference between just adding more uncooked fruits and veggies to my diet and adding significant amounts.

Today I had coffee with soy milk, raw turnip-tomato-zucchini-olive-cashew butter-homemade pesto lasagna, a fruit/greens smoothie w/flaxseed oil and almond milk, and am planning to have the rest of the lasagna and maybe some asparagus with raw cashew cheese dip for dinner. I am going through an awful lot of fruit and veg… I get my first veggie box from the natural grocery down the street on Wednesday (hooray!) and I am excited to try some kale smoothies. I know I’ll need more than just greens and fruit to get me through the day, though. And yeah, in the above list the bulk of the calorie-dense stuff is not raw (almond & soy milk, particularly). I can’t quit caffeine just yet because I have some serious work to do over the next month and I can’t afford to have a weeklong headache.

Thanks in advance for your help & advice!

Comments

• bittbitt Raw Newbie

you are doing great! just keep trying out new recipes. lots of salads are good too. flax crackers are a nice addition sometimes.