Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Hello, and HELP!!!

Hello everybody, I’m Herby and I am a pro-choice, civil-libertarian, nudist, Spiritual (and Secular) Humanist, Beatlemaniac, Pythonist (as in Monty), Marxist (Groucho, Chico, Harpo and sometimes Zeppo), Lennonist (see Beatlemaniac), Shakesperian and Whovian (Doctor who greatest sci-fi of all time).

I just recently started the raw food diet, although I have not yet reached the 100% raw which is my goal. This is the ONLY diet that has been able to bring down my sugar levels, although I am still high and insulin dependent. Any suggestions the group can give me to bring the levels down further would be appreciated.

Comments

• Hi nrising,

I come from a family that suffers from diabetes after a certain age. I have to watch my sugar levels. I recommend you look into reading about greens. Victoria Boutenko wrote a very good book titled ” Green for life”. I do my best to avoid food items with high glicemic indexes or at least I minimize their consumption. Dates, grapes and even bananas, peas and carrots. The bananas are tough because they really help in making green smoothies creamy. Welcome to this website, its full of info, recipes and help. I love it. I went raw overnight, cold turkey and in a foreign country with very limited access to many products. Adapting recipes from this website, getting basic grocery and pantry lists from this site really helped. Good for you for being raw! Blessings, Dea.

• Thanks for the advice. Bananas will be a tough give up, but once the sugar goes down I am convinced the raw diet will reverse diabetes.

• LucyLucy Raw Newbie