Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

soaking chickpeas to make hummus

Hi all, I’m a newbie and happy to find you! Wanting to make hummus with chickpeas(garbanzo). My question is, can I use the regular ones from my local health food store or do I need to buy a special variety for soaking/sprouting?

Comments

• I’ve used the kind from the bulk bin in my co-op for years.

Before that, I used the ones from bags in the Indian grocery.

It seems to be pretty tough to neuter a chick pea!

• lzhptlzhpt Raw Newbie

I was never more ill after soaking and attempting to sprout garbanzo beans. Be safe and make the bean-free Zucchini hummus on this site. Seriously. I was sick for 7 days!

• TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie

featherbliss, chickpeas are almost always viable when bought dry at any store. No need to buy expensive, organic so-called “sprouting” chickpeas, unless you wish to have them.

Izhpt gives a good warning, though. A lot of people don’t handle uncooked legumes well.

• thanks for the advice. i luv hummus so much!

• greeniegreenie Raw Newbie

I made awful hummus with raw chick peas and then I found the key:

Soak them for a couple of days, and rinse them like crazy several times a day.

When I do that, the hummus is delicious and digestible.

The zucchini hummus is delicious too.

• can someone who is experienced at successful chickpea sprouting post their exact method? Im curious as to hours soaked, numbers of rinsings, temps (in fridge, out of fridge). I want to make a bean hummus, but im scared of messing up the sprouting. thanks!