I'm new to this, like 20 min ago

Hi…Dolly here, and ready 4 change. I’ve been giving a strictly vegetarian diet a lot of thought these past months, and still wondering what sort of effects it could have on someone with IBS (irritable bowel syndrome. Yech!) Anyone?

I do love vegetables, but never ate them raw much. This is all totally new to me, so I’m just a beginner, looking for good recipes and maybe a little advice as I go along.

No dairy products? What about breads? To each his own/up to the individual? I still wouldn’t mind hearing some pros and cons if anyone cares to offer them. Just left one site where it is strictly raw veggie dishes, drinks, etc, and no dairy or eggs. Didn’t notice anything about breads. I never did eat much bread, rarely ever eat an egg, or even much in the dairy products so I should be able to adjust okay, but now and then, I love a little cottage cheese, ice cream and an occasional chocolate milk!

Okay…it’s a start. (: Thanks

Dolly

Comments

• chicorychicory Raw Newbie

I have always had terrible IBS with diarrhea. When i ate raw veggies, it would always irritate me, but within 3 weeks of going raw I don’t get the intestinal pain or issues. I never thought I would be able to eat raw fruit and veggies without a starch beforehand

• SuzicalSuzical Raw Newbie

I have had digestive issues, but don’t think they have achieved the level of outright IBS.

That being said, I would check out, research and incorporate green smoothies into your diet as a good jumping off point.

There are wonderful recipes on this site. I have been drinking one or two a day and my digestive tract is calm, smooth and working well – no matter what else I eat.

• Welcome! I started my path here with a diagnosis of severe IBS and was on 6 different meds. That was in 2005, now im totally off meds and have been for a long time and am 50 lbs lighter.